Commendation for Brave Conduct


The Commendation for Brave Conduct is conferred for an act of bravery that is worthy of recognition.

It is the fourth highest Australian Bravery Decoration.


Australian Bravery Decorations date from the establishment of the Australian honours system in February 1975. The Group Bravery Citation was added in 1990.

The decorations recognise acts of bravery by members of the community.

There are four levels of decoration:

There is also the Group Bravery Citation an award for a group of people involved in a single incident.

Past recipients

Read about Maureen Crawford who was awarded the Commendation for Brave Conduct in 2009 for rescuing a pilot from an aircraft after it crash landed and Glenn Taylor who was awarded the Commendation for Brave Conduct in 2003 for rescuing a man trapped in his vehicle in raging flood water.

Search the Australian Honours List for past recipients of the Commendation for Bravery.

View the numbers awarded for the Commendation for Brave Conduct.

How it is awarded

Commendation for Brave Conduct

Commendation for Brave Conduct

Anyone may nominate any other person for a bravery decoration.

The nomination may be for a brave act by an Australian citizen in Australia or overseas. A citizen of another country carrying out a brave act in Australia may also be nominated.

Bravery decorations may be made posthumously.

The Honours Secretariat at Government House researches the nominations. The Australian Bravery Decorations Council then considers them.

The Council has fourteen members including representatives of each state and territory, two ex-officio members and four community members appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Prime Minister.

The Australian Bravery Decorations Council makes recommendations for awards to the Governor-General. The Council also recommends the level of awards.

There is no set timeframe for announcing bravery awards. Generally there are two announcements a year in April and August.

After the announcement of awards, recipients are invited to a ceremony or investiture at Government House in their state.

Insignia design

The Commendation for Brave Conduct is a silver gilt sprig of mimosa mounted on a blood-red backing ribbon.

Nomination forms

Download a copy of the Australian Bravery Decorations nomination form.

Print fact sheet

The information on this page is available as a printable fact sheet.

More information

For more information on making an Australian Bravery Decoration nomination please contact:

Honours Secretariat
Government House

Ph: 1800 552 275

Last Updated: 21 June, 2013