Rhodesia Medal


The Rhodesia Medal was awarded to members of the armed services, police personnel and civilians who served in the multi-national force on Operation Agila.

The peacekeeping force monitored the transitional stages of Rhodesia's independence in the run-up to the 1980 elections.


The Rhodesia Medal was initiated by the British Government in consultation with Australia, New Zealand, Fiji and Kenya, whose forces took part in the operation.

The role of the multi-national force was to keep peace between 22,000 guerrillas and the Rhodesian forces during the ceasefire run-up to the 1980 elections.

Each country treats the medal as part of its own honours system.

The Prime Minister presented the Rhodesia Medal to the Australian Parliament in August 1980.

Past recipients

View the numbers awarded for the Rhodesia Medal.

How it is awarded

Eligible personnel apply for the Rhodesia Medal. Civilians as well as police and military personnel who participated in the resolution of Zimbabwean independence are entitled to the award.

The medal is awarded for service of at least 14 days between 1 December 1979 and 20 March 1980.

Medal design

image of Rhodesian Medal - back

Rhodesia Medal - Back

The circular, nickel Rhodesia Medal features the crowned effigy of The Queen.

The back of the medal depicts a sable antelope surrounded by the inscription 'The Rhodesia Medal 1980'.

Medal Ribbon

The ribbon is sky-blue with three central stripes of red, white and blue.

Print fact sheet

The information on this page is available as a printable fact sheet.

More information

For more information or to apply for the Rhodesia Medal contact:  

Directorate of Honours and Awards
Department of Defence
Ph: 1800 111 321
Fax: 02 6266 1065

Website: http://www.defence.gov.au/medals/

Last Updated: 24 September, 2008